With the publication of the latest edition of The Lion recently released, School Archivist Miss Munday MA has been busy researching its rich and varied history.

Founded in 1908 by members of the Fourth Form, the magazine was created to be an account “of all things done by, and of interest to Hampton Grammar School boys. Here they shall find accounts of the doings of all the school clubs [and] the successes of the school.”

Despite not being the first publication of its kind for the School, The Lion has withstood the test of time. Initially comprising three issues per academic year (Spring, Summer and Autumn respectively), in 1972 The Lion was compiled into a single annual edition.

Prior to this change, the cover design of The Lion was standardised. The formative cover design featuring the School Crest was eventually replaced in 1928 with an initial sketch of a lion. In 1930, the image of the lion was replaced by a design of the School Crest produced by Mr J. Walton OH (1929). However, this design was short-lived, being replaced in 1932 by a sketch of a lion by Mr G. McKinlay OH (1927).

Twenty years later, the design of the lion was once again remodelled with a sketch produced by former teacher Mr Mackenzie in 1952. Since 1972, each cover design of The Lion has been unique.

During its 118-year tenure, The Lion has documented the School’s many achievements across 354 academic terms, as well as the progression of thousands of pupils and eight different Headmasters. It has also recorded School life through two World Wars and, more recently, a global pandemic.

Long may The Lion continue to inform and entertain us with the School’s many developments and achievements.

Back to all archives